Canal & River Trust North West Waterway manager Chantelle Seaborn and partnership chairman Bob Pointing launching the Leeds & Liverpool Canal special Bicentenary Awards

Leeds & Liverpool bicentenary awards launched

Leeds & Liverpool bicentenary awards launched

Calling everyone who has helped to make the Leeds & Liverpool Canal special! 

The Canal & River Trust has launched a new set of awards to mark the 200th anniversary of Britain’s longest single man-made waterway. Nominations are invited for special bicentenary prizes to recognise the best environment, education and conservation projects, the most dedicated volunteers and enterprising businesses.

The Trust’s North West Waterway, which cares for the canal, is also introducing inaugural awards for two categories which will continue to be presented annually – the Waterway Manager’s Outstanding Contribution Award and the Waterway Partnership Chair’s Award, open to groups and individuals who work in the community.

The closing date for nominations is 12 August 2016 and the awards will be presented at a glittering ceremony on Wednesday 19 October at the Dunkenhalgh Hotel in Blackburn, hosted by popular poet, the ‘Bard of Barnsley’, Ian McMillan.

Chantelle Seaborn, the Trust’s North West Waterway Manager, said: “The bicentenary of the Leeds & Liverpool Canal is a very special date for a very special waterway. All through 2016, the Trust, along with dozens of groups, organisations and societies, are marking the year with festivals and events.

“So many wonderful people and organisations have helped to conserve, promote and improve the brilliant waterway we see today. We thought it was right, that in the year when the canal comes under the spotlight, we should mark their contribution and say ‘thank you’.

“We hope everyone who has engaged with the canal in a positive way will put themselves forward and enter one of the award categories.”

Awards will be presented for:

  1. Natural Environment
  2. Education and Learning
  3. Culture and Heritage
  4. Young Volunteer of the Year (under 25 years)
  5. Volunteer of the Year   
  6. Enterprise
  7. Outstanding Contribution (Waterway Manager’s award)
  8. Waterway Partnership Chair’s Award

For more details of the award categories and how to enter, please email Sarah Knight on [email protected] or go to the Canal & River Trust website

Leave a Reply