Apple crumble, beer and honey! – Chelmarsh Sailing Club RS Aero Open

Apple crumble, beer and honey! – Chelmarsh Sailing Club RS Aero Open

15 RS Aeros with 8 visitors from as far away as Yorkshire and South Wales joined 7 Chelmarsh RS Aeros for the 2018 RS Aero Open at picturesque Chelmarsh Sailing Club in Shropshire.

In a light and shifty breeze, Race Officer Steve Taylor got the first of 2 morning back to back races off with only an individual recall for local Fleet Captain Dave Partridge! Huddersfield Sailor, Andrew Molyneux, sailing a 7 rig, started the day with the first of his 4 bullets and Phil White (Frampton on Severn SC) was first in the 9 rigs. The wind strengthened and stabilised for the second morning race and Andrew and Phil repeated their wins.

After a break for Chilli and Baked Potatoes followed by (free!) Apple Crumble from a fantastic Chelmarsh Galley, the fleets headed out for 2 more back to back races. In Race 3, Andrew repeated the morning’s performance in the 7’s but it was Chris Abbott’s (Nottingham SC) turn to take the win in the 9 fleet. As the breeze started to drop away for Race 4, Andrew completed his clean sweep in the 7’s and Chris made it 2 from 2 in the afternoon in the 9’s. Chris’s result in the final race was enough to have him lead the 9’s overall.

The winners were rewarded with a range of RS and local prizes including local beer and honey. Thanks to Chelmarsh Sailing Club and sall there volunterrs for another enjoyable event.

Next up is the RS Classes End of Seasons Champs at Rutland on 3/4th November, where the RS Aero fleet will join the rest of the RS fold including the mass RS pursuit race. This will be the final event of both the UK Northern and Southern Circuits for 2018 – a sociable season closer!


RS Aero 7

1st Andrew Molyneux (Huddersfield SC)
2nd Richard Butler (Covenham SC)
3rd Steve Stewart (Yorkshire Dales SC)

RS Aero 9
1st Chris Abbott (Nottingham SC)
2nd Phil White (Frampton on Severn SC)
3rd Tony Jukes (Chelmarsh SC)

1st Andrew Molyneux (Huddersfield SC)
2nd Chris Abbott (Nottingham SC)
3rd Phil White (Frampton on Severn SC)

Leave a Reply