2016 Living Waterways Awards Open for Entries

2016 Living Waterways Awards Open for Entries

2016 Living Waterways Awards Open for Entries

The Canal & River Trust launches the 2016 Living Waterways Awards today (Friday 5 February 2016) and is calling for waterway organisations and groups across the UK to put forward their engaging, innovative and inspirational projects. 

Led by an independent panel of experts drawn from the voluntary, environmental, arts, heritage, engineering and architecture sectors, the Living Waterways Awards celebrate the work done by individuals, communities and organisations to improve their canals and rivers, making them exciting places to live, learn and spend time.

Richard Parry, chief executive of the Canal & River Trust, explains: “We are delighted to open the 2016 awards for entries and we look forward to finding out about and recognising the most inspiring and exciting waterway-based projects across the UK.  

“We are searching for those people and projects that have done the most to make a difference to the nation’s canals and rivers – transforming the places they pass through, and enriching the lives of all who use them.”

Christopher Rodrigues CBE, Chairman of VisitBritain and chair of the awards’ independent panel of experts, adds: “It is thanks to the dedication and hard work of communities and organisations, both large and small, across the nation, that our waterways are the wonderful destinations they are today.  These important awards celebrate this amazing and thank those involved for what they have achieved.” 

From inspirational story-telling to dedicated volunteer-led schemes; innovative design and construction projects to pioneering environmental initiatives, there are seven award categories up for grabs:

  1. Art & Interpretation 
  2. Contribution to the Built Environment 
  3. Community & Volunteering 
  4. Education & Learning 
  5. Natural Environment
  6. Recreation & Tourism
  7. Restoration & Historic Environment

The closing date for entries is Tuesday 15 March 2016.  Further details can be found at https://canalrivertrust.org.uk/living-waterways-awards-2016

The winners of the 2016 Living Waterways Awards, which are sponsored by Keir, Arcadis, CPC Civils and Fountains will be announced at a ceremony in Birmingham on 14 September 2016.